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ASSESSMENT AND TAXATION
OF BUSINESS OWNED
PERSONAL PROPERTY

In Maryland there is a tax on business owned
 personal property which is imposed and collected by
the local governments. Local levels of government
include the 23 counties, Baltimore City, and numerous
municipalities and towns. In order to foster the uniform
and consistent administration of this tax,  responsibility
for the assessment of all personal property  throughout
Maryland rests with a single State agency, the
Department of Assessments and Taxation.

Personal property generally includes furniture,
 fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery,
tools, supplies, inventory, and any other property not
classified as real property.

FILING REQUIREMENTS/ANNUAL REPORT FEES

In contrast to real property, which is valued once
every three years, personal property is valued every
year for tax purposes.  At the beginning of each year, the
Department of Assessments and Taxation mails a
 personal property return to most businesses on record.
Even if the business does not receive this return, it is still
responsible for obtaining and filing one on time.  All
 corporations, limited liability companies (LLCs), limited
liability partnerships (LLPs), limited partnerships (LPs),
real estate investment trusts (REITs) and domestic and
foreign statutory trusts must file personal property
returns (Form 1) with the Department whether they
own property or not.  Sole proprietorships and gener-
al partnerships must file a return (Form AT3-51) only if
they possess (own, lease, rent, use or borrow) business
personal property or need a business license. These
forms are always available on the Department's website.
If you are unsure whether you are required to file, please
call the appropriate number listed on page 12.

The business must file the return by April 15,
reporting personal property located in Maryland on
January I, the “date of finality.”  This important date
is used to determine ownership, location, value, and
liability for tax purposes.
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PENALTIES

A business which files an annual return after the
due date of April 15 (June 15 for those with approved
extensions), will receive an initial penalty of 1/10 of one
percent of the county assessment, plus interest at the
rate of 2% of the initial penalty amount for each  thirty
(30) days or part thereof that the return is late.

Domestic or Foreign Fee
Business Entity

Stock Corp $300
Non-Stock Corp $0
Foreign Insurance Corp $300
Foreign Interstate Corp $0
LLC $300
LLP $300
LP $300
Domestic Statutory Trust $300
Foreign Statutory Trust $300
REIT $300
SDAT Certified Family Farm $100
Sole Proprietorship $0
General Partnership $0
Amended returns $0
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required to pay an annual report fee. This fee is paid
annually for the privilege of maintaining the legal
 entity’s existence in the State of Maryland and is due
and payable with the filing of the personal property
return. Non-stock corporations, sole pro prie  tor  ships
and general partnerships are not required to pay this
fee.  The following chart lists the annual report
fee amounts:

he business must file the 
return by April 15, reporting

personal property located in
Maryland on January 1, the
“date of finality.”
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Extensions of the filing deadline until June 15th
can be granted.  The two options for requesting an
extension are via the Department’s website or by
paper document.  The fastest, most reliable and
 convenient method is to visit our website at
www.dat.state.md.us. This option is free, operational
from February 1st through April 15th and offers
Department ID number look-up, extension verifica-
tion, confirmation numbers and recall lists by
 confirmation number. Paper  extension requests may
also be filed using Form AT3-71, but they must be
received by March 15th and require a $20  non-
refundable processing fee for each entity.

All corporations, limited  liability companies
 (LLCs), limited liability partnerships (LLPs), limited
 partnerships (LPs), real estate investment trusts
 (REITs), statutory trusts, sole proprietorships, and
 general partnerships are assigned a Department
 identification number that begins with a letter and is
followed by 8 numbers.  The letter denotes the type
of business entity as shown below:

A – Domestic Limited Liability Partnership
B – Domestic Statutory Trust
D – Domestic Stock or Non-Stock Corporation
E – Foreign Limited Liability Partnership
F – Foreign Stock or Non-Stock Corporation
L – Sole Proprietor / General Partnership
M – Domestic Limited Partnership
P – Foreign Limited Partnership
S – Foreign Statutory Trust
W – Domestic Limited Liability Company
Z – Foreign Limited Liability Company

A domestic entity is organized and exists under the
laws of the State of Maryland.  A  foreign entity is
 formed in another state or country and is  qualified or
 registered to do business in Maryland.

Domestic and foreign stock corporations,
LLCs, LLPs, LPs and REITs, and statutory trusts are

he annual report fee is
paid annually for the  privilege

of maintaining the legal entity’s
existence in the State of Maryland
and is due and payable with the
 filing of the personal property
return.

T

12179 Business-Personal PropTax-2011:Assessment & Taxation  7/19/11  12:47 PM  Page 4



EXAMPLE:

A business purchased office
 furniture for $40,000 in 2010 which
is first reported on its 2011 return.
It is category A property which
receives a 10% depreciation rate per
year (.90 depreciation factor). The
example is based on a county tax
rate of $2.34 per $100 of assessed
value, and a town tax rate of $1.10
per $100 of assessed value.

Assessment Calculation:

2011  Assessment  (Property is 1 Year Old)

Original Cost Depreciation Assessed
Factor Value

$40,000            x .90                   = $36,000

Tax Calculation:

Assessed Tax Taxes
Value Rate Due

$36,000    100   x $2.34               = $842 (county)

$36,000    100   x  $1.10              =  $396 (town)
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are then certified to the respective county and/or
municipal (town) governments which in turn calculate
and issue tax bills, and collect the taxes for the tax year
that begins on July 1 and ends on June 30.  The  personal
property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984
when the State tax rate on personal property was set
at zero.  Business personal property is now exempt
from the State property tax.

The formula generally used for valuing personal
property (except inventory) is as follows:
original cost x depreciation factor = assessed value

The formula for computing the taxes is:
assessed value ÷ 100 x tax rate = taxes due

4

The following minimum and maximum initial
 penalty amounts apply:

Days Late Minimum Maximum
01-15 $30 $500
16-30 $40 $500
31 or more $50 $500

Businesses which do not file a return are subject
to an estimated assessment of up to twice the
 estimated value of the personal property owned.

VALUATION/TAX BILLING & COLLECTION

Personal property, except inventory, is assessed
based on the original cost less an annual depreciation
allowance. Property will not be depreciated below 25%
(except for category D) of the original cost. For exam-
ple, an item that was purchased for $400 would be
reduced by the depreciation factor each year until it
reaches a minimum of $100 (25% of the original cost).

The depreciation   factor is that percentage which when
added to the depreciation rate equals 100%. It is also
referred to as the “percent good.” For example if the
depreciation rate equals 10%, the depreciation factor
will be 90%. The depreciation rates vary according to
the category of the property,  however 10% is the rate
applied to most property. There are seven rate
 categories (A through G) with each pertaining to
 different types of personal property (see Appendix A
on page 11 for rates).  Inventory is  valued at its fair
 average value using the cost or  market value,  whichever
is lower.

After the returns are reviewed and the valuations
are determined, assessment notices showing the
assessed values of the properties are mailed to the
businesses. These are not tax bills. These assessed  values

ersonal property, except
inventory, is assessed

based on the original cost
less an annual depreciation
allowance.

P
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Sample of a personal property assessment notice

6

State of Maryland
Department of Assessments and Taxation

301 West Preston Street - Baltimore, MD 21201-2395
Assessment Notice
Personal Property

ANY CORPORATION
XXX MAIN STREET
ANYWHERE, MD XXXXX-XXXX

7

Assessment Allocation by Locations

Location State Assessment County Assessment Town Assessment

This is to notify you that the tangible personal property of the owner named herein has been assessed for tax purposes as indicated
on this notice.  This assessment will become final and conclusive for the tax year indicated unless a written appeal is received
within 45 days of this notice date.  Please use your Department ID in all communications with the Department.
This is not a tax bill.  Personal property tax bills are issued by local governments where the property is located.

HARFORD COUNTY
BEL AIR 36,000

36,000

AT3-12

Date of Notice:  08/23/2011
For Tax Year Beginning:  07/01/2011
Department ID Number:  D 12345678 
Direct Inquiries To:  ASSESSOR
Phone: 410-767-1170
Toll free in MD:  888-246-5941

State Assessment County Assessment Town Assessment

FURNITURE, FIXTURES, & EQUIPMENT
COMMERCIAL INVENTORY
SUPPLIES
MANUFACTURING / R&D INVENTORY
MANUFACTURING / R&D EQUIPMENT
OTHER VEHICLES
LIVESTOCK
OTHER PERSONAL PROPERTY
LEASED PROPERTY (LESSEE)
LEASED PROPERTY (LESSOR)
ESCAPED PROPERTY
ESCAPED PROPERTY - PENALTY
Total Assessment

36,000

36,000

36,000

36,000

INITIAL NOTICE
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 principal residence which is also the principal place
of business of the sole proprietorship; and  3) its
total original cost, excluding registered  vehicles, is
less than $10,000.  An initial return must be filed to
receive this  exemption.

Optional
Exemptions

Optional exemptions cover certain types of
 personal property which receive a full or partial
exemption at the discretion of the county or town
where the property is located. The most significant
types are commercial inventory, manufacturing
 inventory and manufacturing equipment.

Businesses that currently do not have a
 manufacturing exemption must file an application by
September 1 to be eligible for the  current year, or
within 6 months of the date of the first assessment
notice that includes the manufacturing personal prop-
erty for taxable years beginning after June 30, 2009.
Personal  property used in Research & Develop ment
(R&D) falls under the definition of manufacturing.
While the tests and definitions of these two  different
types of property vary considerably,  R&D property
will nevertheless receive the same exemption treat-
ment accorded to  traditional manufacturers.

Five counties (Frederick, Garrett, Kent, Queen
Anne’s and Talbot) have elected to exempt all business
personal  property from county taxation except the
property of public utilities and non-utility generators.
However, the towns within these counties may still
impose the tax.

APPEALS / AMENDED RETURNS

A property owner may file in writing an appeal of
the assessment within 45 days of the date of the
 assessment notice with the Department.  B usinesses
may file amended personal property returns to correct
previous errors in  reporting or claim missed exemp-
tions, except for missed manufacturing exemptions,
within three years of the April 15th date that the return
was originally due.

9

EXEMPTIONS

Certain personal property qualifies for exemption
from assessment and taxation. Exemptions fall into two
broad categories: 1) those mandated by State law and
2) those which are optional to local governments.

Mandatory
Exemptions

All personal property owned by certain organi-
zations, including religious groups, government, 
 non-profit educational institutions, non-profit  charitable
organizations, non-profit hospitals, cemetery and
 mausoleum companies, and certain other organizations
or groups which meet certain “strict use”  criteria is
exempt.These are referred to as exempt organizations
and are fully exempt throughout Maryland from any
assessment and taxation. It should be noted that
because the laws differ, organizations granted exempt
status by the Internal Revenue Service are not
 necessarily exempt from personal property taxation
in Maryland.

In addition, State law requires that certain types
of personal property be fully exempt throughout
Maryland from any assessment and taxation. These
include aircraft, farming implements, residential  (non-
business) property, most registered vehicles, boats
not more than 100 feet in length, hand tools of
mechanics or artisans, and intangible  personal  property
(e.g. stocks, bonds, patents,  goodwill,  trademarks,
etc.).

Customized computer software and related
 documentation is exempt.  Embedded software
 residing permanently in the internal memory of a
computer  system and canned software sold from
inventory in a tangible medium ready to use as is
remains taxable.  All other software is exempt.  A
business may not reduce the original cost of com-
puter hardware by the value of  software that is
acquired as part of computer  hardware.

Personal property owned by a small, home-
based business is exempt if:  1) it is owned by a sole
 proprietorship;  2) it is  located at the owner’s

8

12179 Business-Personal PropTax-2011:Assessment & Taxation  7/19/11  12:47 PM  Page 10



State of Maryland
Department of Assessments and Taxation
Depreciation Rate Chart For Business
Personal Property Assessments

STANDARD DEPRECIATION RATE

Category A - 10% per year-minimum 25%
All property not specifically listed below.

SPECIAL DEPRECIATION RATES
(The rates listed below apply only to the items
specifically listed. Use Category A for all other assets. )

Category B - 20% per year-minimum 25%
Mainframe computers originally costing $500,000 or
more.

Category C - 20% per year-minimum  25%
Autos (unregistered),  bowling alley equipment, brain
 scanners, carwash equipment, fax machines,  contractor’s
heavy equipment (tractors, bulldozers), hotel, motel,
hospital and nursing home furniture and fixtures (room
and lobby), MRI equipment, mobile telephones, model
home furnishings, music boxes,  outdoor Christmas
 decorations, outdoor theatre equipment, photocopy
equipment, radio and TV  transmitting equipment,
rental pagers, rental soda fountain  equipment, self-
service laundry equipment, stevedore equipment,
 theatre seats, trucks  (unregistered), vending machines
 (cigarette, candy, soft drink),  x-ray  equipment.

Category D - 30% per year-minimum 10%
Data processing equipment, canned software.

Category E - 33 1/3% per year-minimum 25%
Blinds, carpets, drapes, shades. The following applies to
equipment rental companies only: rental stereo and
radio equipment, rental televisions, rental video
 cassette recorders and rental video tapes.

Category F - 50% per year-minimum 25%
Pinball machines, rental tuxedos, rental uniforms, video
games.

Category G - 5% per year-minimum 25%
Boats, ships, vessels (over 100 feet).

APPENDIX  A

1110

TRANSFER OF PERSONAL PROPERTY

If a business sells or transfers all of its personal
property after January 1 and before July 1 of a given
year, the seller or buyer must inform the Department
in writing of the date of transfer, the consideration, the
property involved, and the new owner. If this is done
by October 1 of the year of the transfer, the pur chaser
(transferee) will be deemed the owner for property tax
purposes.

TRADER’S LICENSE

Businesses which sell goods or merchandise with-
in Maryland must obtain a trader’s license from the
Clerk of the Circuit Court in the county where the busi-
ness is located. The fee for the license is based on the
value of the inventory reported on the personal prop-
erty return filed by the business.

Sometimes businesses experience problems in
obtaining their licenses. Usually these problems are the
result of one of the following:  1) failure to file a personal
property return in the previous year;  2) failure to
report commercial inventory;  3) failure to pay personal
property taxes from the previous year;  4) failure of a
business to officially form a legal entity or register with
the Department;  5) forfeiture of an entity’s authority
to do business in Maryland.

OUT OF BUSINESS

If a business discontinues operations or goes “out
of business” prior to January I and has not filed the
appropriate legal documents with the Department’s
Charter Division, a return or letter of explanation
detailing the date the business ceased operations and
what happened to the property must be filed.  Failure
to provide this information will result in an estimated
assessment being made against the business. A business
that has not filed the aforementioned legal documents
is legally active until it does so or until its charter  or
authority to do business is forfeited.
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For further information on personal property,
 businesses should contact the appropriate office below:
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STATE OF MARYLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF

ASSESSMENTS AND TAXATION

Corporations,
LLCs,
LLPs,
Limited
Partnerships,
Statutory Trusts,
REITs

Sole
Proprietors,
General
Partnerships

Other ways to reach the Department are:
Website . . . . . . . . . . . . http://www.dat.state.md.us
Email  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . persprop@dat.state.md.us
MD Relay Service  . . . . . 1-800-735-2258 TT/voice

The Department also has a local assessment office
in each of the counties where forms and routine
 information may be obtained as follows:

Allegany County Assessment Office
112 Baltimore Street, 3rd Floor
Cumberland, Maryland 21502  . . . . . . . . . .(301) 777-2108

Anne Arundel County Assessment Office
45 Calvert Street, 3rd Floor
Annapolis, Maryland 21401  . . . . . . . . . . . .(410) 974-5709

Baltimore City Office
301 West Preston Street, Room 801
Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2395 . . . . . . . .(410) 767-4991

Baltimore County Assessment Office
Hampton Plaza
300 E. Joppa Road, Suite 602
Baltimore, Maryland 21286  . . . . . . . . . . . .(410) 512-4900

Department of Assessments
and Taxation

Business Personal Property Division
301 West Preston Street, Room 801
Baltimore, MD 21201-2395
(410) 767-1170   Fax: 410-333-5512
1-888-246-5941 (toll free within MD)

Department of Assessments
and Taxation

Business Personal Property Unit
301 West Preston Street, Room 801
Baltimore, MD 21201-2395
(410) 767-4991   Fax: 410-333-7937
1-888-246-5941 (toll free within MD)
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Calvert County Assessment Office
State Office Building, Room 1200
200 Duke Street
Prince Frederick, Maryland 20678 . . .(443) 550-6840

Caroline County Assessment Office
Denton Multi-Service Center
207 South 3rd Street
Denton,  Maryland 21629  . . . . . . . . .(410) 819-4450

Carroll County Assessment Office
Winchester Exchange
17 E. Main Street, Rear
Westminster, Maryland 21157 . . . . . . .(410) 857-0600

 . . . . . . . .Balto. Line (410) 876-1207

Cecil County Assessment Office
Multi-Service Center
170 E. Main Street
Elkton, Maryland 21921  . . . . . . . . . . .(410) 996-2770

Charles County Assessment Office
101 Catalpa Drive, Suite 101A
P.O. Box 2726
La Plata, Maryland 20646 . . . . . . . . . .(301) 932-2440

Dorchester County Assessment Office
501 Court Lane
P.O. Box 488
Cambridge, Maryland 21613  . . . . . . .(410) 228-3380

Frederick County Assessment Office
5310 Spectrum Drive, Suite E
Frederick, Maryland 21703  . . . . . . . .(301) 815-5350

Garrett County Assessment Office
County Courthouse
P.O. Box 388
Oakland, Maryland 21550  . . . . . . . . .(301) 334-1950

Harford County Assessment Office
District Court Multi-Service Center
2 South Bond Street, Suite 400
Bel Air, Maryland 21014 . . . . . . . . . . .(410) 836-4800

Howard County Assessment Office
District Court Multi-Service Center
3451 Courthouse Drive
Ellicott City, Maryland 21043  . . . . . . . . .(410) 480-7940
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Kent County Assessment Office
400 High Street, 3rd Floor
Chestertown, Maryland 21620 . . . . . .(410) 778-7447

Montgomery County Assessment Office
30 W. Gude Drive, Suite 400
Rockville, Maryland 20850  . . . . . . . . .(240) 314-4510

Prince George’s County Assessment Office
14735 Main Street, Suite 354B
Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772  . . .(301) 952-2500

Queen Anne’s County Assessment Office
District Court / Multi Service Center
120 Broadway, Suite 7
Centreville, Maryland 21617 . . . . . . . .(410) 819-4160

St. Mary’s County Assessment Office
Governmental Center – Carter Building
23110 Leonard Hall Drive,  Room 2059
P.O. Box 653
Leonardtown, Maryland 20650 . . . . . .(301) 880-2900

Somerset County Assessment Office
11545 Somerset Avenue
Princess Anne, Maryland 21853  . . . . .(410) 651-0868

Talbot County Assessment Office
29466 Pintail Drive, Suite 12
Easton, Maryland 21601  . . . . . . . . . . .(410) 819-5920

Washington County Assessment Office
County Courthouse Complex
3 Public Square
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740 . . . . . . .(301) 791-3050

Wicomico County Assessment Office
Salisbury District Court - M.S.C. 
201 Baptist Street
Salisbury, Maryland 21801-4962  . . . . .(410) 713-3560

Worcester County Assessment Office
1 West Market Street,  Room 1202
Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 . . . . . . . . .(410) 632-1196

DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENTS
& TAXATION

DATE REVISED:  JULY, 2011
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